Twelve intrepid walkers set out with Linda and Paddy Chambers on Sunday 21 July for a long, 7 mile ramble from School Row in Updale to beyond Reeking Gill to look at the turf lodges of the navvies who built the railway around the dale in 1865. On the way, they looked at the geology of the dale and the remains of the East Mines calcining kilns, gunpowder magazine and engine shed as well as miners’ cottages and workshops, all thankfully in coolish weather.
The next walk will be a shorter one on Sunday 25 August looking at the fascinating social and religious history of Rosedale Abbey, starting from the village green at 2.00pm and finishing around 3.30pm.
As before, there is no need to book for the walk and it is free, but contributions to help the work of the Society would be much appreciated. For further details call the Secretary on 01751 417071 or e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org